Litcham’s KLQ team head to the USA!

logoCast your mind back to December, and you may remember us posting about the UK final of the Kids Lit Quiz which was won by a team from Norfolk’s Litcham School. They’d triumphed at our regional final in November and we were so pleased to hear that they’d succeeded at a national level.

Fast-forward a few months and the international final is on the horizon, taking place this week on Wednesday 8th July, at Connecticut State University in the United States! We’ll be keeping a close eye on the results and will be sure to post as soon as we know how our UK team do.

Litcham left the UK yesterday and if you’d like to follow their adventures, they’ve set up a twitter account on which they’ll be sharing details of their American trip: @LitchamLit

In the build-up to their trip, we asked some of the team to share how they were feeling about the competition:

I’m really looking forward to our trip to the USA, but I’m also a bit nervous. It’s my first time out of the UK and on a plane, but I am sure I will have lots of fun!

I’m really looking forward to meeting lots of authors, because it will be good to discover some new books and talk to them about writing. I’ve made a lot of good friends from this and look forward to making new friends from all over the world.

– Eleanor

The Kids’ Lit Quiz experience has been a whirlwind! I’ve loved every minute of it. I have met so many wonderful people who all love reading. I have gained self-confidence and discovered new genres of books I would never have picked up. And now we are off to America. To be honest winning is not that important to me now. I am going on holiday for a week to a new country themed all around books. What more could a 12 year bookaholic want? But one thing hasn’t and will never change, you’ll still find me with my nose stuck in a book.

– Amelia

Going to the Kids’ Lit Quiz World Final has been inspiring for me and my friends, as we can demonstrate to the reluctant readers at our school how great reading actually is. It has helped me to make new friends with in the team and meet other friends through them. In the words of one of my team members ‘It’s like going to the Olympics but without all the running around

– Madeleine

Good luck, team Litcham! Everyone in the SLS office is hoping you’ll show the rest of the teams that Norfolk is home to some extremely knowledgable readers!

(Click here to read our previous Kids Lit Quiz posts, including our account of the Norfolk regional final).

Leave a Reply

