Fri-Dahl Reads: Heroes and Villains

Goodbye August, hello September, greetings new school year! We hope you’re looking forward to the new term and even though we’re already missing the summer, we’re excited for what’s ahead- projects, INSET and half term (only 7 and a bit weeks away…!) We published new issues of our Book-Bites and High-Lights newsletters this week, so if you’re interested in reading the latest news and updates from us, you’ll find them here and here. Like us with our new name, they’ve also undergone a makeover so make sure you take a look!

Over the long holidays we shared some of our favourite Roald Dahl reads, inspired of course by this year’s Summer Reading Challenge, The Big Friendly Read. Congratulations to all those who took part by reading lots of books- you’re all brilliant and we hope you’re proud of yourselves for all your hard work. We certainly are!

As a send-off, we thought we’d think not just about Dahl’s stories but the characters he unleashed onto the world. After all, he wasn’t just a wizard of words- he had a real knack for creating memorable characters, both naughty and nice. This got us thinking in the office- who are our personal Roald Dahl heroes and villains?

Screen Shot 2016-09-01 at 20.58.43

Apryl: I’ve spoken at length already about my love for Matilda Wormwood so her inclusion as one of my Dahl heroes is a definite given, but I do also have a few others. Mr Fox, the fantastic one, is another personal favourite, for his ability to cause mischief and seek revenge on farmers Boggis, Bunce and Bean. This week, with the passing of legendary actor Gene Wilder, I found myself thinking about Willy Wonka whose enthusiasm for creating new and exciting confectionary treats was something I found awe-inspiring as a child (even if he is a little bit mean about sharing his secrets).

To this day, I still find the Grand High Witch deeply unsettling, along with Aunt Sponge and Aunt Spiker from James and the Giant Peach and the Grandma in George’s Marvellous Medicine. She definitely deserved to shrink and disappear!

Harriet: I would say that Miss Trunchbull really genuinely frightens me and the force feeding of that cake spoils Matilda for me! My older daughter was scared of The Witches, as I’m sure they would have frightened me if I’d read that as a child (I was scared of all witches!) In fact I think I am too cowardly to have enjoyed Dahl! Mr Twit’s beard is disgusting, and I’m not a fan of large beards, fictional or real (so get that, Santa!)

Kirsten:  Aunt Sponge and Aunt Spiker from James and the Giant Peach are for me the most uncomfortable Dahl baddies – I couldn’t read the story when I was little because the idea of a little boy left with these horribly cruel people made me feel really upset! I have still never read the whole book or watched the whole film…

Matilda and Fantastic Mr Fox are my most heroic Dahl characters – I love how resilient, resourceful and smart they both are – inspirational characters for me at all stages in my life!

(You can read our previous Fri-Dahl reads here)

 

 

Leave a Reply

